Please register to access the Learning Network

The contents on this page can only be viewed by members of the Learning Network. If you're already a member, please take a moment to log in to the network. If not, please register.

This online Learning Network provides members with information and support around Quality Improvement (QI), an evidence-based approach that helps primary care free up time to deliver and evaluate initiatives, and embed new approaches more effectively and efficiently into practice.

QI helps us to make the most of our systems, organisations, talents and expertise to deliver better outcomes for patients.

Members have access to useful resources and case studies as well as opportunities to share learning from their experiences and make useful links with others interested in QI.

Whether you have been undertaking QI work for a while or just want to find out more, this network can support you in your journey and connect you to colleagues across the country who are working in innovative ways.

Membership is open to people working in GP practices and other organisations that support them. Register now to become a member of the Learning Network.

This network has been developed as part of the Royal College of General Practice’s Quality Improvement programme, led by two Clinical Lead’s Dr Mike Holmes and Dr Simon Stockill. If you have any questions about the programme please get in touch with the team at

RCGP RSS News Feed

College announces candidates for next Chair

Three candidates are standing for Chair of Council of the Royal College of GPs to succeed Professor Martin Marshall when his three-year term ends in November this year.

They are:

  • Dr Sunil Gupta
  • Professor Kamila Hawthorne
  • Dr Gary Howsam

Unlike other Medical Royal Colleges, the RCGP has a Chair and a President. The Chair of Council leads on all aspects of College policy and strategic decision making, while the role of the President Is largely ambassadorial.

Dr Valerie Vaughan-Dick, RCGP Chief Operating Officer and Returning Officer, said:

"Thank you to the three candidates who have put themselves forward to be our next Chair of Council. Each has already made a contribution to the College in their own way, and of course, to the profession and their patients. I wish good luck to each of them."

We also have two candidates standing for Vice Chair (External Affairs), to succeed Dr Gary Howsam, when his three-year term comes to an end, also in November.

They are:

  • Dr Imran Rafi
  • Dr Victoria Tzortziou-Brown

Both the Chair of Council and Vice Chair (External Affairs) positions are voted for by Members of Council. All candidates will give their 'hustings' speeches at the next meeting of Council in June.

The candidates with most votes will become the Chair-Elect and Vice Chair-Elect until November Council when they will take their positions officially.

Elections are also currently open for six Nationally Elected Council member seats on UK Council, which will become vacant from November 2022.

There are nine candidates standing for election:

  • Dr Kirsty Alexander
  • Dr Gail Allsopp
  • Dr Stuart Blake
  • Sir Sam Everington
  • Dr Aaliya Goyal
  • Dr Helena McKeown
  • Dr Nicki Perry
  • Dr Carter Singh
  • Dr Richard Vautrey

All College members in good standing are eligible to vote in the national election.

The ballot for all three elections will open on Monday 27 June and will run for three weeks. The results will be formally announced at the RCGP’s UK Council meeting in September.

All three elections will be conducted officially and independently by Civica Election Services (formerly Electoral Reform Services).